Meet the Band

Musical Director

David Roberts LGSM
Musical Director

David Roberts is renowned as one of the finest conductors in the brass band movement and having led the Rothwell Temperance through its career of success and victories, he is much in demand as a freelance conductor across the world.

David’s career as a professional musician commenced following his studies at the Manger Folkehøgskule in Norway. On his return to the UK, his professional career has seen great success both in the UK and overseas with playing tenures at Yorkshire Imperial and Black Dyke Mills Band, which witnessed a string of competitive British and European victories plus concert performances in some of the world’s most famous concert venues, such as London’s Royal Albert Hall and Carnegie Hall in New York and with prestigious brass ensembles such as the London Symphony Brass Ensemble.

A regularly recorded musician, David has performed on no less than 25 recordings and numerous TV and radio broadcasts and as a conductor, David boasts a string of victories in the UK and Norway and regularly travels to work with a variety of brass bands on a freelance professional conducting basis as well as also being in great demand as an adjudicator.

Today, David is a busy professional musician, dividing his time between his role as Musical Director of the Rothwell Temperance Brass Band, working as a professional conductor with bands across the UK and overseas and inspiring the next generation of brass musicians with teaching in the Yorkshire region and tutoring, including being part of the tutoring team for the National Youth Brass Band of Great Britain.

Front Row Cornets

James McCabe
Principal Cornet
Andrew Wallis
Assistant Principal Cornet
Michael Green
Solo Cornet
Andrew Riley
Solo Cornet

Back Row Cornets

Paul Argyle
Soprano Cornet
Adam Hofland-Ward
Repiano Cornet
Liam Spedding
2nd Cornet
Roy Taylor
2nd Cornet
Campbell Feeeman
3rd Cornet
Richard Glascodine
3rd Cornet


Vikki Holland
Flugel Horn
Catherine Roberts
Solo Horn
Johnny Walmsley
1st Horn
Dan Riley
2nd Horn

Euphonium & Baritones

Dan Morgan
Solo Euphonium
Neil Johnson
2nd Euphonium
Jack Telfer
Solo Baritone
Glyn Kearsley
2nd Baritone


Joe Heartfield
Solo Trombone
Andy Eastwood
2nd Trombone
Glyn Thompson
Bass Trombone


Simon Moffat
Solo Eb Bass
Andy Goldfinch
Eb Bass
Ben Ridgeon
Solo BBb Bass
Chris Harrison
BBb Bass
Graham Williams
BBb Bass


Joe Loukes
Ben Scholes
Ross Royal